Breakup Mole

Breakup Guy is a friend I met a few years back while having drinks at Anvil. We bonded over shared interests in adventure sports. He was interested in my ziplining and white water rafting trip to Costa Rica, having never been himself. He did make it to Costa Rica the following summer however he pointed out that not only did he zip and raft, he also rock-climbed and para-sailed.  Yeah, you could call him competitive.

Since, I’ve noticed a distinct pattern in his life: girlfriend for 6-9 months, a breakup, followed by 3 months of intense adventure sports, followed by another girlfriend. We usually get together at the start of the breakup cycle or sometime in the middle of the adventure sport cycle. We also follow the NYC credo of living your life outside of your house so I’ve only been to his apartment twice. It’s done up post-grad Spartan; one bed, one table, two self-assembled chairs from IKEA, a 55-in flatscreen and about $100,000 in sports equipment.

This time when he called at the beginning of yet another cycle we met at Leon’s, he vented and drank heavily,  then we walked back to his apartment. En route I noticed some new behavior – the declaration of a no girl zone at home. And I quote – ” I will clean when I want, I will throw my dirty gym socks where I want and I will not lift up the seat”. Also, I found it funny that he had picked up a new cooking style he called “man cook” which meant only grilling outdoors and assembling meals in a slow-cooker. Did you pick up on the slow cooker part? Right, my mom was a working mom so dinners from the slow-cooker were common, I  don’t really see that as “man cook”.

Anyway.

Sure enough there were piles of muddy running shoes and gym clothes everywhere. But what I really noticed was that the apartment smelled like Mexico City and it was due to the Chicken Mole he had brewing in the slow cooker. I liked this new side of Breakup Guy, since I’m a huge fan of slow-cooker meals. I could not extract a recipe out of Breakup Guy just ” I threw a whole bunch of crap my sister gave me into the pot with some chicken, pressed on then went for a run.” However, I sampled and now I’m sure I can recreate.

Damas y caballeros – I’m proud to present Breakup Chicken Mole

IMG_0044

  • Chopped Tomato (26 oz)
  • 1 Chopped Onion
  • 1/4 C Raisins
  • 1/2 C Almonds (roasted, salted)
  • 1/4 – 1/2 C Bittersweet Chocolate
  • Chipotle in Adobo (4 oz)
  • 4 T Olive Oil
  • 6 Garlic Cloves
  • 1t each Regular Chili Powder and Ancho Chili Powder
  • 1/2 t Cinnamon
  • 1 t Cumin
  • 1-2 T Agave (honey)
  • 1-2 T Salt
IMG_0045 IMG_0046 IMG_0047
  • Throw all of that into a blender or processor, make it smooth. Now you have mole.
  • Salt and pepper 3 pounds of chicken thighs on both sides, rub it in.
  • Put the chicken in a slow cooker, cover with mole. Cook low for 8 hours.

My tip to you –  don’t taste the mole until its cooked for a while, it will taste like raw onion.

IMG_0048

8 hours later, its ready. I’ve tried many moles in my life and this ranks high on the list. Good balance of sweet and savory with a good dollop of heat. The chicken falls apart by merely staring at it. Good with a bit of cilantro and sour cream.

I was going to try to a full plating and  wine pairing session with Breakup Chicken Mole but late start and all.

It does however work for a late snack after an involuntary Manhattan drinking episode in midtown.

I’ll try the wine parings tomorrow if I can remember the stupid ass laws in Texas about purchasing alcohol on Sunday. I’m thinking Zinfandel or Pinot Noir.

5 thoughts on “Breakup Mole

  1. Pingback: Pairings: Zinfandel and Breakup Mole | Free Time

Leave a Reply

