Hermann Park

It was one of those rare days when I wasn’t wearing my headphones while traveling on the subway. Oh, sorry, we call it “light rail” in Houston. I overheard two ladies talking about their day in Hermann Park. A lovely exhibit at the Museum of Natural History, a stroll around the park, a leisurely lunch at Hotel Zsa Zsa. One lady commented to the other in her best southern accent that Hermann Park was just like Central Park in NYC. Right, I had to physically clamp my lips shut not to respond. Granted they are both parks. Granted they are both in urban areas of major cities. However, that’s about where the similarity ends.

Don’t get me wrong, I like Hermann Park and I walk through it frequently on my way to the Medical Center. Its a low-impact 3-mile jaunt around its perimeter, which takes about 40 minutes and that’s about enough time to reboot before yet another context switch. I’m currently “in training” to hike the Kepler Track in 2015, so I’ve added additional treks about Hermann Park to boost my miles/week.

DSCN2065 DSCN2069
DSCN2077 DSCN2079

In order to capture the area without people I had to get there before 7a. Here are some sights, clockwise: Mecom Fountain with Hotel Zsa Zsa behind, Cancer Survivors Plaza, The Cockrell Butterfly Center at the Museum of Natural History and some Greek-like structure (not really sure this has a name but a lot of 15 year old girls in bright puffy dresses take their Quinceañera photos here).

DSCN2084 DSCN2088
DSCN2083 DSCN2094

The Sam Houston Statue and reflecting pool, this area is the center of the park and its typically inundated with joggers, kids on bike, picnickers and ducks.

DSCN2096 DSCN2097
DSCN2110 DSCN2107

Speaking of kids and ducks, they appeared as I completed the circuit and was on my way back to the subway. I mean light rail. Kids gravitate to these big ground-up water spouts, I have to admit I’ve “accidentally” walked through them too. I think the ducks are still wondering how they got to Houston and how exactly they can escape.

On the last segment, around the golf course and out of the park, I noticed this group of trees looking like they somehow wandered off the set of Sleepy Hollow.

Nice park, yes. Central Park, not even close.

DSCN2121

Leave a Reply

