Buddha Meets Bubba

I wont go so far to say that I use a bottle of sriracha a week but it is my version of ketchup and I use it on everything. Eggs – sure! Veggies, of course! Turkey Sand – yep, otherwise its boring. Peanut butter – ok, that was a kitchen mishap, unintentional but actually, quite good.

Last night I used some sriracha on some leftover BBQ brought home from a Labour Day celebration. The combination was  good and got me thinking – how else can I combine the eastern flavors of sriracha with typically southern food found here in Houston.

I now drag thee into my experiment.

Sriracha Pulled Chicken with Cilantro-Agave Cornbread

IMG_1408

Sriracha Pulled Chicken

  • 6-8 Chicken Thighs
  • 1/2 C Agave
  • 1/2 C Ketchup
  •  5 T Sriracha
  • 2 T Mirin
  • 2 T Soy Sauce
  • 1 t Sesame Oil
  • 1 t Ground Black Pepper
  • 1 Onion, chopped
  • 4 Cloves Garlic, chopped

Everyone except the chicken will meet in a blender and be processed until smooth. Place the chicken into a slow cooker, top with sauce. Cook on high for 1 1/2 hours, then low for 1 1/2 hours.  Remove chicken to a plate. Remove sauce to a large pot. Reduce the sauce over medium high until its the desired thickness (about 7 minutes for me), stirring often. While sauce is reducing, shred the chicken into strands using two forks. When the sauce is done, put the chicken in the sauce and stir to coat.

Cilantro Agave Cornbread

  • 1 Box Jiffy cornbread mix
  • 1 T Agave
  • 1/4-1/2 C Cilantro, chopped.

I don’t make cornbread often enough to investigate a from scratch variety and I find Jiffy to be quite reasonable. In the mix up just add the agave and cilantro to other ingredients and proceed with the instructions.

This dish is happening again next week, I liked it so much that I don’t foretell leftovers from this batch. I had some leftover black beans, made with smoked Jalapeno, they were a brilliant side.

Leave a Reply

