Hitachino Nest : Real Ginger Brew

IMG_1653In a Dublin pub I befriended a group of guys working for Google, Ireland. They gave me a run down on all of the city’s highlights and were great fun. I noticed during our time at the pub that they were all drinking Japanese beers, specifically Hitachino Nest. I thought it odd in a city built on Guinness so I asked. The Googlites explained that in Dublin, Guinness is an everyday beer, when they want something special they turn Japanese.  I didn’t believe it at first but I did notice during the remainder of my trip that sure enough, Dubliners were drinking Japanese beers.

Luckily, back in the US, I can get Hitachino at our Home Depot-sized liquor store, almost all of the varieties, so I thought why not start with ‘Real Ginger Brew’ and see what all the fuss is about.

Its fuss worthy. Amber, almost mahogany in color. A head receding to about 1 finger and lingering. Honey, fig, dried apricot and oatmeal on the nose. It reminds me most of Chimay, Blue on the tongue; definitely heavier and with a apricot-date bent and yes, a slight bite of ginger aftertaste but otherwise clean. Nice solo but I’m speculating it would pair well with a spicy tuna roll.

More research will be required.

Hitachino Nest Real Ginger Brew | Specs – Downtown, HTX | $5

Leave a Reply

