Doro Wot

IMG_1682Finally. I had to make more Berbere since I went a little overboard using my first batch in other experiments. This time I left the chicken whole rather than cubing; me thinks its makes for better presentation.

  • 2-3 lb Chicken ( I used whole thigh and breast this time)
  • 4 T Nitr Qibe
  • 2 Onions, chopped
  • 3 Cloves Garlic, chopped
  • 1 T Ginger, chopped
  • 2 T Berbere
  • 2 C Water
  • Salt, pepper

Season chicken with salt and pepper, set aside.  Heat Nitr Qibe in a large pan over medium heat, add onions and caramelize, stirring occasionally, about 20 minutes. Add garlic and ginger,stirring occasionally for another 5-6 minutes. Add Berbere and stir to mix. Add chicken and water, stir, raise heat to high until boiling, then reduce to low, cover and cook 30-40 minutes, occasionally turning chicken over. When the chicken is cooked, remove it from the pan, raise heat to high, then boil sauce for 5 minutes to thicken. Return chicken to the pan to warm, then serve.

Featured here with tri-coloured pearl couscous (because I was not even going to attempt making injera).

2 thoughts on “Doro Wot

  1. Tasty Eats Ronit Penso

    When I had this dish in Ethiopian restaurants, they always served it with a hard boiled egg for some reason. I do like it without, as you did here. It looks really tasty and I can almost smell the aroma from all these spices…
    Nice idea to serve it with the Israeli couscous. I guess it absorbs the sauce beautifully. 🙂

    Reply
    1. freetimeinhouston Post author

      Thanks! Yes, I believe the hard boiled eggs are traditional but since I’m not Ethiopian, I feel exempt. The couscous was a last minute thought since it was all I had left in the pantry. It worked extremely well – accidental genius again 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

