Mobile Bacon And Eggs

BreakUp Guy, my friend with the 9-month-on, 3-month-off dating cycle, is back. The breakup is early this year, usually it doesn’t occur until June, you know, the start of adventure sports season.

BU Guy doesn’t cook but he has ideas. Usually these ideas come in the form of a mobile meal he can consume while walking to work, that way he can sleep 10 more minutes. He thinks he’s cleverly manipulating me into making mobile meals. I let him think that since the reality is I only try the ideas to see if they fit into the business model my sister I have for a food truck.  Win, win – since he’s ever the willing test subject.

This time it was ‘if only I could have bacon and eggs in walkable form’.  No challenge there.

  • 1 can Biscuits
  • 6 Eggs
  • 1/4 – 1/2 C Cheddar Cheese, grated
  • 6-8 Strips Bacon, partially cooked
  • Ground Black Pepper
  • Tabasco

Press the biscuit rounds against the bottom and side of large muffin tins, going about 3/4 of the way up the tin; preferably large tins. Sprinkle with cheddar, a few drops of Tabasco and a little pepper. Criss-cross with partially cooked bacon strips. A little more cheese and a few more drops of Tabasco. Crack the egg over that. A little more pepper to top. Bake at 375 for 20-25 minutes depending on how firm you want the egg.

IMG_1951 IMG_1953

BU Guy and I agree these are pretty good. The research assistants we recruited for this effort were also in agreement, a good use of pork products in mobile form.

When I picked up the biscuits during my mad rush through the grocery, I picked up the whole wheat version. Next time I’ll try the regular version or maybe I’ll use just some buttered Sourdough bread, thinly sliced. If you truly want a mobile version, the eggs need to be cooked fully, as BU Guy can testify – egg yolk on a white dress shirt somewhat detracts from a professional appearance.

Leave a Reply

