Chateau Ksara

IMG_1993I probably shouldn’t spend time in Middle Eastern groceries, my impulse buys can quickly add up. However, exploration is key to my personality so I rationalize the expense like that.

I’ve tried loads of Israeli wines, most I liked, however some can be rough around the edges. I had not ever tried a wine from Lebanon, so I tossed this bottle into my cart with the rest of the impulse buys. So much for just going out to get a jar of tahini.

Chateau Ksara 2008, is a blended red from the Bekaa Valley region of Lebanon; its 60% Cabernet Sauvignon, 30% Merlot and 10% Petit Verdot. I’m not certain I’ve ever had Petite Verdot on its own, but I imagine its flavours are mostly like Petit Syrah, judging by the flavours in the wine.

Visually this wine is deep, dark red with purple and brown hues, slightly cloudy. On the nose, ripe plum captures your full attention, blackberry jam slightly distracts, fresh cut tobacco entertains and oddly, a little sun-dried tomato before the curtain closes. On the first taste dried currants head-butted my taste buds followed by a soothing fresh red plum with a zany but appealing ‘stony’ quality that would appear, fade and then reappear. Definitely a dry, medium-to-full-bodied experience with a finish bordering on tangerine zest and cinnamon astringency.

I liked it. If you are going to give it try, I’d recommend a 1-2 hour decant first or maybe running through an aerator. I think next time I’m going to try it with some Lamb Kebabs, its a little to powerful on its own.

Chateau Ksara 2008 | Phoenicia, Downtown HTX | $19.95

Leave a Reply

