Cashew Sour Cream

Every time I visit my vegan sister I return with a renewed interest in making vegan dishes. It typically only lasts a few weeks but the result is that I usually add some new dish to my standard fare.

This visit yielded an interest in pan-fried carrot cakes with ‘sour cream’. The problem was that sour cream is not vegan so I looked for a few alternatives. This one caught my eye on Chow but I made a few adjustments after the first round.

IMG_2181 IMG_2182

First, it absolutely does not taste like sour cream, to me its better. Secondly, the consistency comes close to sour cream but it will not be the same; it going to be more like really thick hummus. Lastly, its not the same color, it looks exactly like what you would it expect to look like – cashews that have been through a food processor.

  • 1 C Raw, Unsalted Cashews, soaked for 2 days
  • 1/4 C Water
  • 2 t Lemon Juice
  • 1 t Apple Cider Vinegar
  • 1/2 t Salt
  • 1/4 t Onion Powder
  • 1/4 t Garlic Powder

Two tricks to getting this to turn out well. The first is to soak the cashews for at least one whole day, two is better. Put everything into a food processor except the water, pulse a few times. Stream the water in a little at a time, each time pulsing a few more times. The second trick is to continue 10 second pulses followed by a scrape down of the bowl. Do this about 5-6 times.

I’ll have to create another batch since I’ve been using this on everything from pita chips to grilled veggie wraps, hence the delay in making the carrot cakes.

I found another version of vegan sour cream involving Silken tofu but it requires a lot of processing first, maybe over the weekend.

 

One thought on “Cashew Sour Cream

  1. Pingback: Spicy Pan-Fried Carrot Cakes | Free Time

Leave a Reply

