Curry-Roasted Cauliflower

I’m back from my little summer blogging hiatus and still experimenting with vegetarian food. Well, that is after a stint of eating wild game hot dogs at Moon Tower Inn.

I love cauliflower but I’ve never found a good at-home preparation. Steamed cauliflower? No, I’d rather just eat school paste. A combination of flavours from a roasted brussel sprouts rendition appealed so I tried it on the cauliflower.

  • 1 medium head cauliflower; leaves off, cut the bottom so it stands up on its own.
  • 2 T Butter, softened
  • 2 T Olive oil
  • 1 T Sweet curry powder
  • 1 t Coconut Sugar
  • 1 t Coconut flakes, unsweetened
  • 1 t Red Pepper Flakes
  • 1 t Cumin
  • 1 t Onion Powder
  • 1 t Garlic Powder
  • 1 t Salt
  • 1 t Ground black pepper
IMG_2261 IMG_2262

Mix the fats and spices together in a small bowl until smooth. Place the cauliflower in a roasting pan then spoon the mixture over the cauliflower. Use your fingers or a basting brush to get the mixture into the crevices. Bake at 350 for 75-80 minutes.

I liked; good flavours and texture, particularly the crust that forms on the bottom. Next time I’m thinking swap out the butter for coconut oil. While I really like the whole cauliflower for presentation, next time I’ll quarter it so there is more surface area for crust. Alas flavour wins out over looks.

 

2 thoughts on “Curry-Roasted Cauliflower

Leave a Reply

