Chilean Pebre

I attempted to do both a squash casserole and the accompanying sauce tonight but only managed to finish the sauce. Probably for the best, there are many ingredients so I’ll do the sauce post tonight and another tomorrow for the casserole.

Inspiration for making this sauce came from my outing to the pan South American restaurant, Andes Cafe. While my meal there was exclusively Peruvian, I went Chilean on my own.

I totally recommend you make a full recipe even though it will make about 3 cups; you will use it on everything. It reminds me of a cilantro based chimichurri. So far I’ve used it on scrambled eggs, corn chips, pasta and a Morningstar Farms burger; great pairing all around! I imagine this is good on grilled meats, particularly chicken.

IMG_2357 IMG_2362
  • 1/2 C Vegetable Broth
  • 1/2 C Cilantro, minced
  • 1/2 C Onion, minced
  • 1/2 C Red Bell Pepper, minced
  • 1/4 C Olive Oil
  • 1/4 C White Vinegar
  • 3 Cloves Garlic, minced
  • 1 t Salt
  • 1 t Ground Black Pepper
  • 1 t Dried Oregano
  • 1 t Red Pepper Flakes

Blend everything together and refrigerate for at least one hour before using.

Pebre featured above in a makeshift snack of scrambled egg with green olive and cheddar, blue corn chips to scoop.

Leave a Reply

