Coconut, Key Lime Soda

Sounds good, right? And it is but this was a creation of necessity rather than experimentation.

Last month I started waking up in the middle of the night with severe calf cramps. You know, the kind that make you curl up in a ball, massage your calf and swear at peak volumes. Typically those are caused by a potassium deficiency, so I started eating bananas. Not effective.

Later I started monitoring my sweat rate to assess the quantity of electrolytes I was losing during exercise. I was a bit surprised – 3.5 pounds  or 54 oz/hr. That’s a little on the high side since normal is in the 25-40 oz/hr range. It also explains why I’ve been potassium deficient. The more you sweat, the more you lose electrolytes. So I added a bit of coconut water for potassium to the mix. I was not impressed with the flavour of coconut water – not one bit –  so I added more coconut flavour and a little sweetness with Sweet Leaf Coconut Stevia Drops. Definitely better but I wanted something with a brighter flavour, so I added key limes and sparkling water to the mix.

IMG_2563 IMG_2564

Now I drink this at least once a day. I’ve stopped buying all those silly electrolyte drinks and my calf cramps seem to be under control.

  • 4 oz Sparkling water
  • 4 oz Coconut water
  • 1/2 dropper Coconut Flavoured Stevia Drops
  • 2 Key Limes, quartered, 1 quarter squeezed

 

Leave a Reply

