Prerequisite Black Beans

Friends commented lately I haven’t been writing much about my experiments in the kitchen. True, however its typical for me after traveling for holidays and all the parties and all the dinners out. There’s always a month or two I resort to a salad-only diet just to recuperate. ‘Recuperate’ here means lose 10 pounds.

I’ve ‘recuperated’ and now its time to get back to it, since I have a pot luck party to attend with a Chili and Stout Beer theme. I’m leveraging the party to try some new chili concoctions. Right, because now theres a reason. Insert smirk.

The first experiment up is a Sweet Potato and Black Bean Chili. I wanted to first drill into how I make my black beans, since I’m often asked why I don’t use canned. I agree, using canned beans takes less time and if you can’t tell the difference or they aren’t a major ingredient in whatever you’re making, use them. Me, I can tell the difference – the consistency is too soft and flavour too salty.

BBSPC-1 BBSPC-2

For the chili recipe in my head, I wanted the beans to carry over flavour from the chili spices. Also, I wanted the beans to be firmer before using them in the chili, so they didn’t turn into mush.

  • Black Beans (dry, 16 oz. bag) soaked overnight, drained
  • 1 C Carrots, chopped
  • 1 C Celery, chopped
  • 1 T Garlic, chopped
  • 1 T Cumin
  • 1 T Chili Powder (chipotle for me)
  • 1 T Ground Black Pepper
  • 1-2 T Veggie Base (no-salt variety for me)
  •  4 C Water

Put everything in a slow-cooker on high for 2 hours; they should soften a bit but shouldn’t give too much if you pinch one between your fingers. Cool, drain, refrigerate or freeze for future use.

Next up, we’ll use these in Black Bean Sweet Potato Chili

 

One thought on “Prerequisite Black Beans

  1. Pingback: Black Bean, Sweet Potato Chili | Free Time

Leave a Reply

