Mexican Catsup

I was disappointed to learn agave is worse for me than high fructose corn syrup and white sugar. I’m not one of the current wave of fructose alarmists running amok deleting all fruit and most vegetables from their diet because they heard from a friend of a friend’s yoga partner’ s daughter’s kindergarten teacher that fructose is bad. Rather, my blood sugar is wacky and doctor bluntly informed me that my total fructose intake should be below a certain level. When I did the math that certain level turned out to be something on the order of less than 20 bananas a day.

Yeah, maybe I’ll cut back; sarcasm intended.

Still, I started looking at fructose in foods. Catsup, which I love, has too much, so I made my own removing the white sugar entirely. Unfortunately I subbed in agave which actually has more fructose than white sugar — so worse. Coconut sugar has a little less fructose plus there is some evidence that it is absorbed more slowly due to inulins. So I went with that to create a new catsup with a Mexican spin.

MexMeatloaf-1 MexMeatloaf-2
  • Chopped Tomatoes (3, 14.5 ounce tins)
  • Rotel (1, 7.5 ounce tin)
  • Chipotle in Adobo (1, 7.5 ounce tin)
  • 1/2 C Coconut Sugar
  • 1/2 C Apple Cider Vinegar
  • 1/2 C Onion, chopped
  • 2 T Garlic, chopped
  • 1 T Agave
  • 1 t Salt
  • 1 t Black Pepper
  • 2 t Ancho Chili Powder
  • 1/2 C Cilantro, torn

Put everything into an uncovered slow cooker on high. The goal here is to reduce the liquid by almost half. Your mileage may vary but it took me almost 12 hours. Stir about once an hour. About 10 minutes before you’re done, stir in the cilantro. Cool, run through a food processor for several minutes to smooth out the texture.

THIS is amazing! I made a Smoked Paprika Catsup a while back which I liked but this kicks it out of the running completely. A fellow blogger inspired me to make a meatloaf which will make use this catsup. Up next.

2 thoughts on “Mexican Catsup

    1. freetimeinhouston Post author

      Totally agree. For me it was situational, fructose bad. Agave is way worse for me than cane sugar but coconut sugar is better. In the end I think the best choice for me is to just limit all sugars but “limit” is open to interpretation 😀

      Reply

Leave a Reply

