Lemon-Dill Salmon

Still doing the Paleo thing. One surprising detail, butter is considered a no-no because of the milk solids, which sounded excessive but made sense for me on my quest to eliminate lactose. However, ghee, which is ‘clarified’ butter, is acceptable. I knew about ghee, a staple in Indian cooking, but I didn’t have time to make a trip down to the Indian groceries so I tried making my own. I was super impressed with the flavour; surprisingly nutty and rich, better than butter. Next time I’ll post the relatively straight-forward process for making ghee.

LemonDillSalmon1 LemonDillSalmon2
  • 1 1/2 pounds Salmon
  • Juice of 1 Lemon
  • 1 t Salt
  • 1 t Ground Black Pepper

Lemon-Dill Ghee

  • 3 T Ghee
  • Zest of 1 Lemon
  • 1-2 T Fresh Dill , chopped

Let the ghee come to room temperature then mix together ghee, dill and lemon zest and refrigerate again to harden up. Wash and pat dry the salmon. Lay the salmon in a baking dish and sprinkle the lemon juice on top, sprinkle salt and pepper on top of that. Scoop out pieces of the lemon dill ghee  and lay those across the salmon. Bake at 425 for 15-20 minutes, depending on the thickness of the fish. I usually do about 6 minutes per 1/2 in of thickness measured from the thickest part of the fish. As always, after removing from the oven, let it rest for 5-10 minutes before serving; strange as it sounds this actually completes the cooking process.

LemonDillSalmon3 LemonDillSalmon4

Notes

Not changing a thing here, this is excellent. The ghee totally makes the dish, its sweet and nutty flavour pairing so well with the salmon, I can’t imagine using just butter. The lemon and dill are subtle but also pair extremely well!

 

5 thoughts on “Lemon-Dill Salmon

  1. Tasty Eats Ronit Penso

    Looks delicious. I love the combination of salmon and dill.
    I posted such recipe a while ago, though I don’t think it’s going to be Paleo friendly, as it has breadcrumbs and butter in the topping… 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

